How to get your CRIB report in Sri Lanka
The steps, documents, CRIB score range and dispute process, read from the Credit Information Bureau’s own website.
Read from the official page on 14 October 2026
In short
- Three ways to apply: at the CRIB office, through a licensed bank (report posted by registered post) or online at myreport.crib.lk.
- CRIB’s FAQ gives the fee for a report requested through a bank as Rs. 150. Check the current price when you apply, especially online.
- The CRIB Score is a three-digit number from 250 to 900. You may not have one if CRIB holds too little information about you.
- Settled facilities stay on your report for 5 years after full settlement. CRIB does not blacklist anyone and cannot change the data.
- To dispute an entry, the form must reach CRIB within 30 days of the report’s issue date.
Three ways to get your report
- At the CRIB office: No. 201, Sir James Peiris Mawatha, Colombo 02, Monday to Friday, 9.00 am to 3.30 pm. Bring a filled MyReport application form, your valid NIC, passport or a driving licence that carries your NIC number, and the fee.
- Through a licensed bank: hand the application form and a copy of your ID to a branch. The branch certifies the copy and sends it to CRIB, and the report comes to your mailing address by registered post. CRIB says you can request a report only through a bank, not through a leasing or finance company.
- Online: apply through the CRIB website under MyReport User, then Unregistered Users. CRIB verifies your mobile number, email address, address and NIC (through the Department for Registration of Persons) and emails the report. Registering for a MyReport account at the same time is free.
What the report shows
Your report lists the credit facilities you have taken from banks, finance companies and leasing companies that report to CRIB, whatever the amount or status, with positive and negative information, updated every month. It also includes cheques returned for insufficient funds. Savings accounts, fixed deposits and utility bills are not reported. A lender’s decision to reject your application is not reported to CRIB.
The CRIB Score
The CRIB Score is a three-digit number between 250 and 900, worked out from the information lenders report. CRIB lists these factors: past repayment behaviour, over-indebtedness, demographic details, use of available credit, guaranteed contracts, dishonoured cheques and enquiries by lenders. The score is created each time it is requested and is not stored in your history. You can get a consumer score directly from CRIB or through a bank, and lenders you have applied to or already deal with can see it. A higher score means you are seen as lower risk, but lenders also look at your income and other commitments.
How long records stay
CRIB keeps a settled borrower’s information for 5 years after full settlement. When you clear arrears or settle a loan, your lender reports the new status at the end of that month. CRIB does not blacklist anyone, gives no opinion on whether you should get credit, and cannot change the data it holds: only the lending institution can correct its own entries.
If an entry is wrong
- Get your own MyReport. A dispute cannot be raised from a report downloaded by a lender.
- Fill in the Dispute Registration Form and attach proof. It must match the information on your report.
- Make sure the form reaches CRIB within 30 days of the report’s issue date, or it is rejected.
- CRIB sends the dispute to the lender that reported the data. Resolution takes at least 14 days because it depends on the lender.
Only the report’s owner can raise a dispute, and disputes about the current month’s updates are not accepted. Once the dispute is resolved, CRIB issues an amended report free of charge. If you are not satisfied, you can take the issue to the Financial Ombudsman. For advice after defaults, CRIB’s FAQ names the Upadeshana Credit Counselling Centre in Rajagiriya (011 2 887006).
The MyCRIB app
CRIB’s MyCRIB app for iOS and Android lets you get your report, check your CRIB Score, receive alerts and start and track disputes. Download it only from the official stores and never share your password or OTP.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a CRIB report cost?
CRIB’s FAQ says a report requested through any bank costs Rs. 150. Online prices are shown on the MyReport site when you buy, so confirm the current fee before you pay.
How long does it take to get a CRIB report?
CRIB does not publish a delivery time on the pages we read. At the office you can apply during working hours, online reports are emailed, and reports requested through a bank come by registered post.
What is a good CRIB score?
The score runs from 250 to 900 and a higher score means lower risk. CRIB does not publish a pass mark, because each lender sets its own policy and also looks at income and other commitments.
Am I blacklisted by CRIB?
No. CRIB says it does not blacklist anyone. It collects repayment records and shares them with member lenders, which decide for themselves whether to lend.
How can I remove my name from CRIB after settling?
You cannot ask CRIB to delete it. When you settle a loan or clear arrears your lender reports the new status at the end of the month, and the record is kept for 5 years after full settlement.
Can someone else get my CRIB report?
Not without your authority. You must prove your identity, and CRIB accepts a duly registered Power of Attorney for another person.